Harddisk partition finding in centos

i am playing with grub and i change the root using:

root (hda,x)

how can i know what’s x for /dev/sda7 ?

fdisk -l

   Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
/dev/sda1   *           1        1958    15727603+   7  HPFS/NTFS
/dev/sda2            1959        7476    44323335    f  W95 Ext'd (LBA)
/dev/sda5            1959        4569    20972826    7  HPFS/NTFS
/dev/sda6            4570        5352     6289416   83  Linux
/dev/sda7            6373        7119     6000246   83  Linux
/dev/sda8            7120        7476     2867571   83  Linux
/dev/sda9            5353        6135     6289416   83  Linux
/dev/sda10           6136        6372     1903671   82  Linux swap / Solaris

the problem is that in Gparted view, the order is not like sda5, sda6, sda7, … but the order is like:

  • sda6
  • sda9
  • sda10
  • sda7
  • sda8

so what’s x for /dev/sda7 ?

2 Answers

First off, you need to realize that in grub, it does not use normal linux hard drive identifiers. Instead, the letters correlate to numbers, starting with zero (i.e. hda = hd0, hdb = hd1, etc).

Secondly, the partition number starts at 0, not 1 like in Linux, so subtract 1 from the linux partition number.

An example is: hda1 = (hd0, 0)

Finally, grub does not differentiate between hd and sd devices, so everything is labeled hd.

Thus, in your case, your grub entry for /dev/sda6 should read (hd0, 5)


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s